Author Topic: Use repeater output frequency as simplex?  (Read 1996 times)

Offline chicomecha

  • Dep. Web Wheeler
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
Use repeater output frequency as simplex?
« on: May 28, 2013, 07:09:19 PM »
Gary, see any reason we can't use the repeater's output frequency as a simplex frequency like they do in the Rubicon?  This would allow the operator to monitor the repeater, yet talk amongst a group on simplex without tying up the repeater.  Then you would not have to use the Dual Watch function in the FT60, or scan a small bank to hear both.  You would have to remember that if you heard a call from someone not in your group, to switch over to the repeater to respond.
"If you're lucky enough to be in the mountains, you're lucky enough."
N6RCJ

Offline N6BLU

  • K6FHL Repeater Trustee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 133
  • Master of B.S. In all things related to everything
Re: Use repeater output frequency as simplex?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2013, 02:08:59 PM »
Yes we do that on the w6scr machine around Chico when were close enough for simplex. Good Idea.
K6FHL Repeater 146.700(-) PL 110.9 for coverage in the High Lakes and beyond, is linked to the W6SCR Repeater 145.290(-) PL 110.9 on Platte Mtn. for coverage into the Sacramento Valley.

Offline chicomecha

  • Dep. Web Wheeler
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Use repeater output frequency as simplex?
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2013, 05:54:49 PM »
OK, done. For anyone that I have done your FT-60 program, find me and I will update your program.
"If you're lucky enough to be in the mountains, you're lucky enough."
N6RCJ